Battle Song!

This is a poem that has been provided to us from IMS. I would like you guys to read this and find out the beauty of the lines:

When you are lost in the wild, and you are scared as a child,
And death looks you bang in the eye.
And you are sore as a boil, it’s accordingly Hoyle,
To cock your revolver and …Die
But code of a man, says: “Fight all you can”
And self dissolution is barred.
In hunger and woe, oh it’s easy to blow…
It’s the hell-served-for-breakfast that’s hard

You are sick of the game! “Well, now, that’s a shame.”
You are young and you are brave and bright.
“You have had a raw deal!”, I know- but not squeal.
Buck up, do your damned best, and fight.
It’s the plugging away that will win you the day,
So don’t be a piker, old pard!
Just draw on your grit; it’s so easy to quit:
It’s the keeping – your-chin-up that’s hard.

It’s easy to cry that you are beaten-and die,
It’s easy to crawfish and crawl;
But to fight and to fight when the hope is out of sight,
Why, that is the best game of that all!
And though you come out of each grueling bout
All broken and beaten and scarred,
Just have one more try – it’s dead easy to die,
It’s keeping – on – living that’s hard.

Engineered myself into engineering!!!

I am the only son of my parents. My father being a doctor, he wanted me to continue his legacy in the family by becoming a doctor. My mother was also related to the medical profession. I always wanted to become a doctor…When i used to study in the IXth and the Xth standards, People used to ask me about my future plans and i used to take less than a second to reply that I would become a better doctor than my father. The transition from Medicine to Engineering, “two opposite poles” in career choice is interesting!!!

I took admission into the Science stream at Kendriya Vidyalaya No.1, Tezpur and I was initially fascinated by the beauty of Biology. By beauty means the practicality in the approach with which our teacher taught us the subject. Our Principal was a P.G.T teacher who got Gold Medal for his teaching abilities. These things deepened my interests in the subject and I was almost sure about my career path ahead.

Slowly time passed and I started loving Physics. I had a home tutor for Physics who taught me the subject with great alacrity…I found and realised the beauty of nature through Physics. Those were my days when I used to dream and think about nature through the eyes of physics. This period was a transition period for me from Bio oriented studies to Maths oriented studies. I gradually decided and changed my career path and my success in the initial IIT JEE screening test was a moral booster for me. I felt as if I got a seat in the IITs…I tried and worked hard but could not get into the esteemed IITs. It’s always said that something is better than nothing. I got more than something in NIT Surat and I am proud to be studying here as a Computer Engineering student.

Sometimes small decisions or events change the lives of many persons…That Physics tutor of mine changed my ideas and that changed my whole life…I am thankful to him and after all “everything is predecided”.

Looking back into the last three years, I think I have gained and got to learn a lot being here at NIT Surat! I have become matured…both emotionally as well as physically.

With all its lacunas, I find my college the best place on this earth. After all, it has given me everything and made myself a man out a kid.

Happy Blogging!!!

Teachers’ Day!!!

Teachers’ Day Celebration at the Computer Engineering Department, SVNIT Surat. Ours was the only branch which had its own celebration on that day…CHEERS…we kept up the tradition of being different!

Preparations on full sway for the day…i feel our class has changed from the old boring one to a new dynamic one in the final year…!

Group photo with the Head of the Department

My First Blog!!!!

Hi ALL!!!
I am Partha Pratim Basumatary doing Computer Engineering, IV year, NIT Surat, Gujarat India. I have not yet started writing blogs properly…I am trying to gather inspiration from a few frenz who have really impressed me with their writings…

Bye for now…Partha